3 Reasons I Love Amsterdam

Why do I love Amsterdam? Let me count the ways. Ok, I will limit myself to 3. I originally traveled to Amsterdam in the summer of 2011. I was ecstatic to be returning to the wonderful city during Matt and I’s 10 day European vacation in February.

Street

  1. The people are nice. Nice is a boring word but it is so applicable. Dutch people are notorious for being nice. They smile. They ask “How are you?” They make you feel welcome. They make you want to come back.
  2. The food is remarkable. Amsterdam isn’t particularly known for one specific type of cuisine. Our favorite meal was at a Mediterranean place, d&a Hummus Bistro. We ate soft, fluffy pancakes for breakfast and mouthwatering skirt steak for dinner.

    D&A
    Pickled vegetables, hummus and falafel at d&a Hummus Bistro.
  3. It feels like home, walk up brownstones and freezing winters. The city is comprised of distinct neighborhoods which reminds me of Chicago. Plus, everyone speaks English. Amsterdam is a great European city to expand your horizons while avoiding culture shock.

My list could go on and on. Have you ever been to Amsterdam? What do you love most about the city?

XO, The Lady Traveler

Leave a Reply

